Skilled Nursing Homes: Geriatric Care Manager Certifications

Comments Off

It is highly important to consider a Geriatric Care Manager’s (GCM) certifications before enlisting their services for yourself or a loved one. According to its website, members of the National Association of Professional Geriatric Care Managers (NAPGCM) in 2006 voted to approve a new requirement that all members hold at least one of four approved certifications.

As of Jan. 1, 2010, all current and renewing members must hold one of these certifications and since January of 2008, it has been required that all new applicants for Care Manager membership be certified.

The approved certifications include Care Manager Certified (CMC), Certified Case Manager (CCM), Certified Advanced Social Worker in Case Management (C-ASWCM, and Certified Social Worse Case Manager (C-SWCM).

More information can be obtained on each of the certifications at the following:

Care Manager Certified — CMC
National Academy of Certified Care Managers (NACCM)
(800) 962 — 2260

Certified Case Manager (CCM)
Commission for Case Manager Certification (CCMC)
(651) 789-3744

Certified Advanced Social Worker in Case Management (C-ASWCM)*
Certified Social Work Case Manager (C-SWCM)*
National Association of Social Workers (NASW)
(800) 683-8799 ext. 409

*These are the only certifications from NASW that fulfill NAPGCM certification requirements. The Gerontology Specialty Certifications, Clinical Social Worker in Gerontology (CSW-G) and Advanced Social Worker in Gerontology (ASW-G) do NOT fulfill NAPGCM Certification requirements.

*_To learn more about the NAPGCM, visit*

Comments are closed